- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
- Academic OneFile
Multidisciplinary database providing full text articles from over 12,000 scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.
Coverage Dates: 1980 to present
- Academic Search Complete
Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and select full text of scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of subject disciplines, including art, literature, education, history, sociology, science, and engineering. Because of its broad subject and full text coverage, Academic Search Complete is a good starting point for research on virtually any topic. Click here for a search tutorial.
Coverage Dates: 1887 to present
- Access World News
Full text access to approximately 3,000 global news sources, including newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news blogs, Web-only content and video. This database is especially strong in local and international news, including over 50 New York news sources and over 1,300 overseas sources. Coverage varies by title. [CSI]
Coverage Dates: 1977 to present
- ACM Digital Library
Full text of Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals and proceedings since 1985. Includes The Guide to Computing Literature, which offers abstracts of books, articles, papers, and technical reports published by ACM and other publishers.
Coverage Dates: 1985 to present
- ACS Chemical Journals
Full text of journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). Find articles in all areas of chemistry as well as related fields such as environmental science, biotechnology, material science, pharmacology, and toxicology. Click here for Chemical and Engineering News
Coverage Dates: 1879 to present
- America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes major titles such as Journal of American History, American Historical Review, and American Quarterly. (For world history see Historical Abstracts
Coverage Dates: 1964 to present
- American Civil War Research Database
The definitive online resource for researching the individuals, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Includes military records for over 4 million soldiers, 4,000 regimental histories, 3,000 battle accounts and reports, 15,000 photographs, and much useful statistical information and analytical tools.
- American Memory
Digital collection of historical materials from the Library Congress. Includes a variety of manuscripts, pamphlets, images, audio and video recordings, maps, and sheet music that document U.S. history and culture. Users can search across all collections or browse by topic.
- American Society for Microbiology Journals
Full text access to journals published by the American Society for Microbiology including: Journal of Bacteriology, Journal of Clinical Microbiology, and Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews. Citations and abstracts for back issues are available.
Coverage Dates: 2011 to present
- Anthropological Index Online
Searchable index of article citations from anthropology journals at the British Museum's Anthropology Library. Includes major titles from all over the world such as Annual Review of Anthropology, Anthropology Today, Ethnology, and Journal of Material Culture.
Coverage Dates: 1957 to present
- APA Addiction Syndrome Handbook
This two-volume handbook provides a comprehensive review of addiction. Volume 1 has an introduction and three sections focusing on the background and history of addiction. Volume 2 examines recovery from addiction, the prevention of addiction, and other issues associated with addiction.
- APA Handbook of Behavior Analysis
Behavior analysis stems from the nonhuman laboratories of where Psychologists studied the connection between environment and behavior. This handbook covers topics such as memory, attention, choice, behavioral neuroscience, and behavioral pharmacology.
- APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology
This handbook will both highlight the practices in counseling psychology's traditional areas as well as in new and emerging areas.
- APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology
This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education.
- Applied Science and Technology Source
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
Coverage Dates: 1913 to present
- APS: Journals of the American Physical Society
Full text access to the journals of the American Physical Society from 1893 to present, including Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics and Physical Review A-E.
Coverage Dates: 1893 to present
- Art Abstracts
Citations and abstracts from over 400 leading art publications throughout the world covering the fields of art history, architecture, graphic design, photography, sculpture, and museology. Find feature articles, artist profiles, exhibit reviews, and art reproductions. This database offers abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications?now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Coverage Dates: indexing from 1984+ to abstracts from 1994+
- Artemis Literary Sources from Gale
Search across several major literature databases such as Literature Resource Center, MLA International Bibliography, Gale Virtual Reference Library, LitFinder, Scribner Writer Series, and Twayne's Author Series to find full text literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
- Artemis Primary Sources by Gale
Artemis Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Artemis Primary Sources takes users beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, allowing them to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets.
- Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl . AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large. The images displayed on this site have been photographed on location by the author, who consents to their use in any application that is both educational and non-commercial in nature.
- Art Museum Image Gallery
Digital library containing over 155,000 art images from the museum collections around the world. Many include curatorial text, provenance data, multiple views, and related multimedia. Spans artistic creation from 3000 B.C. to the present, with fine and decorative art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, including Native American and Meso-American peoples.
Coverage Dates: 3000 B.C. to present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Part of the Web of Science
, Arts & Humanities Citation Index provides citations to journal articles in the arts and humanities, including architecture, art, classics, dance, literature, music, philosophy, film, religion, and theater.
Coverage Dates: 2004 to present
ARTstor is a digital library of over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Faculty members may request "instructor privileges" which provide enhanced functionality, including the ability to create shared folders, instructor commentary, and personal collections. ARTstor Tutorials
- Associations Unlimited
Provides information on nonprofit membership associations and professional societies worldwide, plus IRS information on over 300,000 U.S. nonprofit organizations.
- arXiv e-Print archive
Open access to 929,073 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.