Current Database Trials
Database Trials listed in Alphabetical order (off-campus links)
AM Digital suite of databases is on trial until Feb 23, 2015.
American History, 1493-1945
This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History. Module I Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859. Module II (coming soon) Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
From early topographical sketches and pioneers’ accounts, to photographs of Buffalo Bill and his ‘Wild West’ stars, explore the fact and the fiction of westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century. Browse a wide range of rare and original documents including printed books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork and more.
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognised ‘father’ of Motivational Research.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history. Explore our interactive chronology to learn a wealth of fascinating facts, take a tour of our visual resources, and watch video footage to experience the spectacular sights and sounds of the period for yourself.
Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World History
This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Students and researchers will find sources covering a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war.
Digitalia – Hispanic Collection , trial until Feb 28, 2015
www.digitaliapublishing.com (off-campus link)
User name email@example.com Password cuny
Streaming Video library www.digitaliafilmlibrary.com
Digital Theatre Plus, trial until Feb 26, 2015
www.digitaltheatreplus.com (no proxy access from off campus)
This database provides access to streaming video of live theatrical performances directly to your desktop.
Following login details for your off-campus access:
Science Education Video Database trial
SE1: General Lab Techniques (off campus link provided below)
SE2: Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology
Page updated Feb 12, 2015 by M.A.P.