- Academic Search Complete
Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and select full text of scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of subject disciplines, including art, literature, education, history, sociology, science, and engineering. Because of its broad subject and full text coverage, Academic Search Complete is a good starting point for research on virtually any topic. Click here for a search tutorial.
Coverage Dates: 1887 to present
- Anthropological Index Online
Searchable index of article citations from anthropology journals at the British Museum's Anthropology Library. Includes major titles from all over the world such as Annual Review of Anthropology, Anthropology Today, Ethnology, and Journal of Material Culture.
Coverage Dates: 1957 to present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities
Part of the Web of Science
, Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities provides citations to papers and proceedings of social science and humanities conferences from 1990 to present.
Coverage Dates: 1990 to present
- Country Studies
Descriptions and analyses of the social, economic, political, and military systems of countries throughout the world.
- eHRAF World Cultures
Full text database offering information on different cultures and ethnic groups from around the world. Covers all aspects of cultural and social life such as beliefs, cultural practices, political structure, and settlement patterns. Each cultural profile consists of a "cultural summary" and a list of relevant full text sources. Users can search by keyword or browse by subject, region, or culture. Very useful for comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture. User Guide
- Ethnic Newswatch
Full text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Covers of a wide spectrum of ethnic viewpoints, including African-American, Jewish, Latino, Native-American, and Asian-American publications.
Coverage Dates: 1990 to present
- Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals. Humanities International Complete is an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Find population, health, and socio-economic data for New York City neighborhoods. View the demographic profile of a specific area or create comparison charts for two or more areas.
Coverage Dates: 1980 to 2010
Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage for most journals does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines. Click here for a search tutorial
Coverage Dates: 1665 to present
- Population Index
Citations to the world's demographic and population literature from 1986 - 2000, including books, articles, working papers, dissertations, and data files. Search by author, subject, region, or keyword. Back issues of the index from 1937 - 1999 are available thru JSTORCoverage Dates:
1986 to 2000
- Project MUSE
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences primarily covering the fields of literature, history, cultural studies, political science, religion, and the arts. (Books are not available yet)
Coverage Dates: varies from 1958 to present
- Social Explorer
Historical U.S. census data from 1790 to 2007. Use interactive maps to analyze changing demographic characteristics in U.S. states, counties, or tracts and generate statistical reports.
Coverage Dates: 1790 to 2007
- Social Science Citation Index
Part of the Web of Science
, Social Science Citation Index provides citations to journal articles in the social sciences, including anthropology, education, history, library science, law, philosophy, political science, psychology, sociology, and women's studies.Coverage Dates:
2004 to present
- Social Sciences Full Text
Enjoy fast access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others. An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Coverage Dates: 1983 to present
- SocIndex FT
Citations and select full text of scholarly articles, books, and conference papers in sociology. Topics covered include criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, substance abuse, violence, and urban studies.
Coverage Dates: 1895 to present
- Taylor & Francis Library
- World Factbook
U.S. government profiles of countries and territories around the world. Information on geography, people, government, transportation, economy, communications, and military. Print edition available at the Reference Desk [Call Number: G122.U56a 2001].
Union catalog containing records of library holdings all over the world. Use WorldCat to locate books, journals, audio and video recordings, and archival materials held by other libraries. If an item you want is not available at CUNY simply click "Find It" to request an interlibrary loan.